Amazon Queen

Amazon queen, I now listen and hear
how lilting and sweet your voice sounds.
You found me, crying in the dark, now I honor you and more.
My queen, you saw that I was taught strength and to believe.
You lifted my wretched soul, from bonds of slavery.
My fears were revealed
And stomped into the dust beneath my feet.
I grew to believe in me and in the sisterhood.
Now I know that I can stride free with Amazon grace.

Copyright © 2006 Ann Marie Meadows (Poetry.com)
Copyright © 2009 Ann Marie Meadows (Lulu.poetry.com)

Leave a Reply

